Home

Hello, hello, hello!

More than a decade ago, when I lived in New Delhi / Bombay in India, I was repeatedly told that I should move to America. I didn’t understand society’s reasoning. While completing graduate school in Texas, I was told that I am suitable for California. I was baffled. After my move to north California, I knew that I am finally in my land. At last, I understand why I didn’t belong anywhere. I am just too opinionated!

Due to cultural influences and abusive upbringing, I couldn’t openly share how I felt. I lived under that banner ‘what will people say’ and ‘what will people think.’ Now, thankfully I am becoming Americanized. I am not afraid to think, speak, and demand. I am taking my newfound freedom and running with it.

This website is about me, you, and everyone else like me. This is a safe place to share and learn without any judgments.

Just in-case read my biography. Also, do share your opinions, feedback, questions, and comments at opinionated.indian.female@gmail.com. And of course thank you for visiting Opinionated Desi Living in America.

Sheena

6 thoughts on “Howdy!

  1. Hello, I am trying to figure out how to enter some of my stories in the contest at The San Mateo County Fair. I went to check out last years winner and saw your picture. The first thing I noticed is how pretty you are I am baffled that your parents thought different! So I read Pink Indian Lotus and it was amazing! I felt your pain and I’m sorry, but when I got to the part towards the end (I don’t want to spoil the plot for anyone else, but lets just say karmic justice was served to someone who didn’t treat you so well) I found myself clapping in front of my computer and cheering you on. I am happy that you are an American now, your strength is truly amazing!

    Like

    • Hi Tracy, I hope you entered your work in the San Mateo contest! It takes a moment to understand their directions. If you had problems, email me your concerns.
      And, thank you so much for reading my story, I just submitted a draft, just for the heck of it. Now, Pink Indian Lotus is revised a gazillion times!
      You know the whole concept of beauty is very different in India as compared to US. In India everything different is shunned, whereas in America different is celebrated. America has given me an acceptance that I never found in India.
      I hope you continue to write, read my work (shameless self promotion), and someday I get to read your work.
      Best,S

      Like

Leave a Reply

